T-minus three and counting….

Standard

So the POD is packed (except for my computer) and the house is eerily empty and echoing. The animals don’t seem to know what to make of it, and unfortunately, my bed is the only piece of furniture left for hanging out.

Dinner with the Browns on Saturday evening. I love going to their house; it is so serene and their yard is amazing. Dessert was raspberries from their garden. I’m going to miss them a lot.

I had a terrific lunch today with Susan. Even though we haven’t spent lots of time together, we agreed that we were going to miss each other. It isn’t until someone is no longer physically in your life, that the missing part kicks in. I’ll miss not going to Portland Center Stage with Susan, but I’m happy she bought my seat for Tom.

I’m trying to see some people I haven’t spent a lot of time with, before I leave. Mary and Mike on July 4th, Maybe Ellie on Tuesday, Sally on Wednesday, Sonja and Tom once more.  I think I underestimated how many friends I really had here; now I have more!

There doesn’t seem to be a happy medium between missing people.  All these years I wondered if I would ever live closer to family again. Now I wonder how often I will see my Oregon friends. I know it won’t be often enough.

About movinandshakin11

I've started this blog for a few reasons. First, I would like to share this crazy, wonderful journey back to New York with all of my friends. The second reason is that in order to stay sane during this process, a blog will help me stay organized! I also hope my friends will continue to follow me once I am back in New York - I expect to have many interesting adventures to talk about.

One response »

Leave a comment