Hi Ho, Hi Ho…….

Standard

I spent all of today, Saturday, packing up my kitchen with the help of my good friend Mary Anderson. We made a big dent, although the pots are still left to pack. My kitchen is rapidly filling up with boxes, and it feels pretty good. My momentum has been lagging lately, so the energy of another person can make a big difference in how much I get done.  There are only eleven days to go before I board that plane for New York City. The POD is here, right outside on the street, so this adventure is fast becoming a reality.

I’m going to have to enjoy spending the summer with Madelyn, because as of Sept. 1, she is under contract with Carnival Cruise Lines for 6 months! She will be a singer on one of the ships bound for exotic places; such a fun thing to do when you are 23….or even 63! There must be a job for me too! What a great way to spend half a year, traveling, eating well, exercising and meeting people from over the world. I’m very happy for her, but I will miss her.

My biggest concern about this move, at this point in my life, is how my knee will fare with all of the walking I will have to do. I’m especially concerned about steps, specifically subway steps, so I’ve been practicing that in physical therapy. I’m thinking that I may take buses for awhile; I don’t want to not be able to go and do, but I realize I’m only 9 weeks out from my surgery – I know, my timing is horrible, but I had to use my insurance benefits.

I’m looking forward to the Farmer’s Markets in the city and the Brooklyn Flea. We are living in Spanish Harlem (East Harlem) and there are Latino markets, bakeries, etc. right on our street. It will be fun to explore, and even take the crosstown bus to the west side to see what’s over there. I’ve even located an animal clinic for the pets (don’t tell anyone, but the lease says no pets – Madelyn says there are quite a few dogs in the building)!

About movinandshakin11

I've started this blog for a few reasons. First, I would like to share this crazy, wonderful journey back to New York with all of my friends. The second reason is that in order to stay sane during this process, a blog will help me stay organized! I also hope my friends will continue to follow me once I am back in New York - I expect to have many interesting adventures to talk about.

Leave a Reply

