Time To Get Serious About Packing

Standard

My estimated date of departure from Oregon is July 6th. So I think I need to get going on packing. We are going to be living in a very small apartment in NYC, and I know I can’t take all my “stuff.” You know, the great garage sale items bought with creative ideas in mind. Or the furniture I was going to redo. What about all those chatchkas I just couldn’t pass up? So, I emptied my storage unit into my living room, and am moving everything I don’t want to take, into my kitchen……for a stupendous moving sale next weekend! I’m giving up things like amazing tile I bought for a steal, and a beautiful antique library table.  Well, no point rehashing it all in my head; downsizing it is. I’m becoming less attached to things as time goes on, anyway. I remember how much stuff my mother and dad had, and how my brothers and I struggled with what to do with it all.  I realize that people are what I want to hold on to – not things. I’ve made many good friends here in Oregon, and it is they who I wish I could take with me, not my stuff.

About movinandshakin11

I've started this blog for a few reasons. First, I would like to share this crazy, wonderful journey back to New York with all of my friends. The second reason is that in order to stay sane during this process, a blog will help me stay organized! I also hope my friends will continue to follow me once I am back in New York - I expect to have many interesting adventures to talk about.

Leave a Reply

