What the….?

Standard

I have been driving since I am 17yrs old, and believe me, that is a long time. I have never been in an accident……until today that is. There I am, innocently driving up I-5 to a medical appointment at OHSU, when out of nowhere (it seemed) I heard and felt something banging into me on the driver’s side of the car. I held onto the wheel while the car started spinning around – right there in the middle of the highway! I could smell the rubber burning. Somehow I steered the car to the left side of the highway and stopped – well, actually stalled. I sat there for a few minutes just not believing what had happened, and that I was still alive.

What banged into me was a long flatbed truck. There was a witness who said the truck appeared to be changing lanes and didn’t see me. The truck driver said “I dunno what happened?” The entire left side of my car, each panel, has damage to it, and what is infuriating to me is that my mechanic has offered to buy the car when I leave.

This is definitely the freakiest thing that has ever happened to me. It is amazing to be in the throes of it – I remember thinking, “I’m moving to New York, I can’t die!” What is the most amazing thing is that while I was spinning, no one got even close enough to hit me. Wow!!

 

About movinandshakin11

I've started this blog for a few reasons. First, I would like to share this crazy, wonderful journey back to New York with all of my friends. The second reason is that in order to stay sane during this process, a blog will help me stay organized! I also hope my friends will continue to follow me once I am back in New York - I expect to have many interesting adventures to talk about.

Leave a Reply

