Pushing the Limit

Standard

After re-reading my Mother’s Day post, I realized that I sounded a bit negative. I think it is the loss of control I have been feeling with this surgery business. I’m not a control freak, but I do like to be able to have some modicum of control over my life. I realize that when a person is ill or in some stage of recovery from a medical issue, giving up some of that control is necessary. I tried to be in control yesterday, and ended up in severe pain as a result. I wanted to take a short walk from the Library to the mail box just a block away, but forgot that my cane was in the car with Madelyn. I figured I could handle it anyway, but halfway there and halfway back I was in excruciating pain. I was sure I had done some damage to my leg, but luckily after a grueling stretching session in therapy today, I found out that no damage was done, just muscle strains. So, my cane is in control now and my best friend! I’ve been trying to do the same with taking pain meds. I’m not worried about becoming addicted to them, I just think I can handle the pain. Not true. The physical therapist told me today that I must take the meds in order to feel good enough to exercise. But I have to be off of them in order to return to work – It’s a dilemma.

About movinandshakin11

I've started this blog for a few reasons. First, I would like to share this crazy, wonderful journey back to New York with all of my friends. The second reason is that in order to stay sane during this process, a blog will help me stay organized! I also hope my friends will continue to follow me once I am back in New York - I expect to have many interesting adventures to talk about.

One response »

Leave a Reply

