Pain….Need I Say More?

Standard

So, big shot that I was after surgery, I was sure I wouldn’t need to fill the second prescription I had for pain meds. Wrong….!! And now that my physical therapists are making me do things like bend my knee, I need the meds even more.  Sure that’s their job, to make me scream like a baby, and my job is to take more pain meds! No worries – I don’t have an addictive personality, but truthfully, more of the meds just make me sleepy.

Pain is scary to me because I have this vision of pushing my knee too far, major pain occurs, and all my staples pop out of my leg – like I’m the Hulk getting too big for my skin. The therapist reassured me that the staples won’t pop out of my leg and my knee will remain intact. I did have good news today though; on Wednesday I bent my knee to a 78 degree angle, and today it was 90 degrees. So, I think I’m safe on the staple popping for now. I do have these awful visuals of the doctor taking the staples out with some office staple remover, but I’ve been reassured it won’t look like that. This is all such a mystery to me.

I think we’re tackling steps next week.

About movinandshakin11

I've started this blog for a few reasons. First, I would like to share this crazy, wonderful journey back to New York with all of my friends. The second reason is that in order to stay sane during this process, a blog will help me stay organized! I also hope my friends will continue to follow me once I am back in New York - I expect to have many interesting adventures to talk about.

One response »

  1. If you’re not crying, they’re not making you work hard enough. I want to see tears, soldier!!!!! Trust me – I shed a few.

Leave a Reply

