Animal Kingdom

Standard

The oddest thing occurred with our pets while I was in the hospital. It’s kind of embarrassing to say how many animals are roaming around my house, but I’ll do it anyway. We have Wendy and Simba, 17 and 18 yr. old cats, Bo, 6 year old cat, Luna, Madelyn’s 2 yr.old cat, and Lola, 5 year old dog. I know, I know – absolute craziness to have this many pets – I don’t need to be reminded, but as Madelyn was growing up, the pets helped to relax her tics and stress.

Well, before I left for surgery, Luna would offer me a pittance of affection (mainly when she wanted to be petted). Luna also never stood more than two feet next to any of the other animals.  Sunday night Madelyn and I were hanging out in my bed with all of the kids, when the strangest thing happened. Luna came and sat on my lap and started nuzzling my hand, licking me and purring! When I realized what was happening I told Madelyn how shocked I was at Luna’s behavior. In addition, there was no growling at the other animals, despite the physical proximity of all of them.

Is it possible that Luna actually missed me? Did she have a cat epiphany while I was gone that “you don’t know what you’ve got, until you lose it?” Is a cat epiphany even possible?  She is now my best friend and can’t give or get enough lovey stuff from me, and that’s just fine with me!

About movinandshakin11

I've started this blog for a few reasons. First, I would like to share this crazy, wonderful journey back to New York with all of my friends. The second reason is that in order to stay sane during this process, a blog will help me stay organized! I also hope my friends will continue to follow me once I am back in New York - I expect to have many interesting adventures to talk about.

One response »

Leave a Reply

