On The Mend

Standard

It has been over a week since my knee surgery, and an interesting turn of events as well.  Initially, the plan was to have a partial knee replacement using a robotic procedure called Makoplasty. During the surgery the machine developed a glitch that would have caused an error in measurement of the implant. At the same time, my doctor discovered additional damage to the cartilage, so the decision was made to re-group and perform a full replacement.  I found out about this as soon as I awoke in my room, and my friend Mary let me know what had happened. Needless to say, I felt confused! The anesthesiologist assured me that in years to come, I would be very happy I had the full replacement.

I’m doing my exercises, going to therapy and taking wonderful naps (thanks to my long-acting pain meds), but I really want this swelling to go down – my knee is huge! Madelyn is a very good nurse, and the pets are certainly happy to see me too.

Mary and Mike were such amazing caregivers for the week after surgery. I am very thankful to have them as friends and really, family.

About movinandshakin11

I've started this blog for a few reasons. First, I would like to share this crazy, wonderful journey back to New York with all of my friends. The second reason is that in order to stay sane during this process, a blog will help me stay organized! I also hope my friends will continue to follow me once I am back in New York - I expect to have many interesting adventures to talk about.

Leave a Reply

