It’s Called Self-Control

Standard

I’ve been thinking a lot about transitioning from Oregon to New York – grass and mountains to concrete and skyscrapers. So my trip to Al’s Garden Center in Woodburn today was bittersweet. I needed to buy a few shrubs for the front of my house where it is bare by the front walk. In order to get to where the shrubs were, I had to walk almost the entire expanse of the greenhouses at Al’s. On my way I passed absolutely gorgeous plants, and that old feeling took hold in my stomach once again; Spring is here and I’d love to buy some new plants for my back yard. I am planting a few pretty ones to fill up some spots, but nix on the major buying; there was a moment of sadness.

I’m really hoping that the apartment that Madelyn and I will be sharing has some decent light for plants. After 23 years out here, (and even though I am from New York and grew up with a back yard in NJ) I know I will experience major concrete shock. When I first moved into my house five years, I went gung-ho planting and primping. For some reason, I haven’t had the same desire for about two years, although once I am out in the yard weeding (like today), it all comes back and I want to go shopping for plants!

My goal is for Madelyn and I to live in this apartment for at least 6 mos., save some money on rent, then look for a place on the west side – maybe up in the 130’s where we can get more for our money. There are even renovated brownstone garden level apartments with a yard, which would be perfect for Lola, our dog and for entertaining. I keep that vision in my mind every day, and maybe if I think hard enough, I can make it happen!

About movinandshakin11

I've started this blog for a few reasons. First, I would like to share this crazy, wonderful journey back to New York with all of my friends. The second reason is that in order to stay sane during this process, a blog will help me stay organized! I also hope my friends will continue to follow me once I am back in New York - I expect to have many interesting adventures to talk about.

Leave a Reply

