Leaving Will Be Bittersweet

Standard

I really thought my job at Early College High School would be the last full-time teaching job of my career. It’s the best fit of any position I have had in the past 25 years of being a Special Education teacher, and I doubt that I will find anything like in the future. The staff is made up of 20 and 30 somethings (I do believe I am the oldest person on staff) who have so much energy and love for the profession and the students. Our lunch conversations range from world problems to cookie cook-offs, and I am very impressed with the level of intelligence surrounding me. It makes for controversial yet fun conversations on a regular basis.  Leaving this environment is going to be very difficult for me. Not only are my co-workers great to work with, but I am validated by them on a regular basis; something all of us needs.  The more I get to know them, the easier it is for me to let my “real self” show i.e. my East Coast sense of humor, opinions and words of wisdom from living longer than they have, and my expertise in teaching students with special needs.

Today my therapist teared up when we talked about me leaving. We’ve known each other for ten years, and she has supported me unquestionably throughout all of these years. Leaving her is also going to be very difficult, because she is another person who validates everything about me, and creates the opportunity for me to show all of my sides to her.

I believe in growing and changing until the day I die, but I don’t necessarily like the fact that I can’t always take the people who have been there with me, along for the journey.

About movinandshakin11

I've started this blog for a few reasons. First, I would like to share this crazy, wonderful journey back to New York with all of my friends. The second reason is that in order to stay sane during this process, a blog will help me stay organized! I also hope my friends will continue to follow me once I am back in New York - I expect to have many interesting adventures to talk about.

Leave a Reply

