A Veritable Potpourri

Standard

I had my first pre-op appointment for my knee surgery this morning. This consisted of a chest x-ray, UA, blood work, and a class on what to expect when you are having joint surgery. My good friend Mary Anderson, (whose house I will be crashing at after surgery) was there with me to hear all the nitty gritty stuff about how to care for me post-op. I have to say that I got a bit anxious hearing all about anesthesia, incisions, catheters, swollen knees, possible nausea, and the fact that in the afternoon of the day I have my surgery, I am reporting for physical therapy! They do sound organized though, with a bunch of teams working with the patients. I have my next pre-op appointment on Friday; can’t wait to hear what the doctor has to say.

Then I went back to work down in Salem for the rest of the day. Man, I enjoy teaching Special Ed., but I have never favored all the paperwork. I’m having meetings every day for the next week and a half, in order to complete them before my leave.

The best part of my day was from 6 – 7pm. I treated myself to a cooking class at Wellspring in Woodburn, in the Vitality restaurant. I love that place; it smells so fresh, and is a treat for the eyes. I took a class called Cooking Stock 101, and came home with recipes for vegetable, fish and chicken stock. We sampled some of their soups as well, and for the next three days I can stop by and pick up a pint of their soup and a pint of stock to take home.  My diet was definitely on hold today!

About movinandshakin11

I've started this blog for a few reasons. First, I would like to share this crazy, wonderful journey back to New York with all of my friends. The second reason is that in order to stay sane during this process, a blog will help me stay organized! I also hope my friends will continue to follow me once I am back in New York - I expect to have many interesting adventures to talk about.

Leave a Reply

