First Retirement

Standard

I attended a retirement workshop today for people interested in retiring within the next year. I will be officially retiring when I leave the Salem-Keizer school district. What a strange feeling I had while listening to the PERS presenter; It was so odd to be planning for another phase of my life. I really don’t know when I will retire completely, but the best part of this first phase of retirement is the extra money I will receive monthly! It almost feels like a gift.

The other thing that is hard to grasp is that my older brother is 67 yrs. old, I am 63 and my younger brother is 59. Where did all of the time go? Just saying all of those numbers is mind-blowing, yet we are all pretty young-spirited.  There is so much we don’t know about life when we are young, and in many ways it is unfortunate that we have to live so long to make the discoveries. I am a very different person now than I was before we moved to Oregon. I understand myself so much better, and I even appreciate myself more. I only hope I will have many opportunities in this next phase of my life to experience my growth.

About movinandshakin11

I've started this blog for a few reasons. First, I would like to share this crazy, wonderful journey back to New York with all of my friends. The second reason is that in order to stay sane during this process, a blog will help me stay organized! I also hope my friends will continue to follow me once I am back in New York - I expect to have many interesting adventures to talk about.

One response »

  1. Never stop moving forward, but never forget the past. Having H & E keeps me busy, but it’s my desire to get back into music that drives me.

Leave a Reply

